Bloodmagic

Customer Reviews

1,261 Ratings

Overall Ratings

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    712
  • 4 Stars
    408
  • 3 Stars
    109
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    12

Sorted By Most Useful

4 out of 5 stars
By Robert on 31-07-14

Still not bad

Book 2 is still keeping my interest. It is not off the charts Awesome, but still has potential. It really is a good story. Although it does keep my interest I am not sitting on the edge of my seat with excitement about what might happen next. I can put the book on pause and not think about it until I am bored again. But there is progress in the storyline and she received some nice new powers, I just want her to kick more butt!!! :)

So far not bad, I will buy the third book.

Read more Hide me

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

2 out of 5 stars
By Jonathan on 05-09-14

It had so much potential.

The plot doesn't have any real direction. Main characters have unprovoked mood swings from page to page. Secondary characters return as completely different people. Compared to the previous book in this series, NOTHING is explained. Yet not non-key information is repeated and repeated.

Read more Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Uma on 21-02-15

Better than the traumatic first one

Why is Mac so stupid? I hate how she's not bright enough to figure out the most obvious truths (uh hello, Corrugan likes you and oh yeah - everyone has told you just how unlikely it is that he would kill the Cornish pack for harboring a supposed human). Eek the development of her awareness is sloooww. This narrator is what keeps me from giving up on Mac. Lovely voice! I only hope that in the next book Mac wisens up.

Read more Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

2 out of 5 stars
By Peter on 13-12-14

Not sure what the 4 out of 5 stars is for.....

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

It could have been much better written. I have listened to a lot of sci-fi and fantasy genre books and this one does not even come close to any of them.

What was most disappointing about Helen Harper’s story?

I am not sure why the reviews of this book are so good. I bought it based on them. I even went so far as to buy the 2nd one in the series based on the reviews, hoping it would get better. I suppose I shouldn't have expected that much given it was the same author. I have listened to books where I did not want to stop until the last word and then it would leave me longing to find out what happens to the characters. I would be thrilled to find out that the next book in the series was already available and would start listening to it immediately. I became invested in them. In this book, the main character just isn't believable. I think the author wants the reader to believe the main character is so "badass" but the writing just doesn't convince me of that. And after finishing the book, I really don't care what happens next. It was overkill and rather slow. As another reviewer stated, "non-key information is repeated and repeated." Such as, even when it is clear from every other characters;s point of view that Mack's conviction that the Lord Alpha will annihilate her "pack" if he finds out she is "human" is wrong, she still keeps beating it to death. Definitely not a page turner.

Would you listen to another book narrated by Saskia Maarleveld?

If it had better content.

You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

The story line could have been really good had it been written differently.

Read more Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Lisa on 31-08-14

It's a page turner

I've had this on my wish-list for some time, but hesitated, because I was afraid I wouldn't be able to understand the accent; I'm glad I tried it though because it is a great story, and my concerns were unfounded, as I had no problems understanding the narrator, in fact she's quite talented. I have enjoyed the series immensely, I've just finished the 3rd book and all of them have been fantastic page turners, unpredictable, and thrilling. The female lead has been strongly developed, and I found myself routing for her to beat the odds. Give it a shot; you wont regret it; I've got to go; book 4 is calling to me. 5 starts Helen Harper.

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By RandomReader on 20-06-14

Wonderful new series!

Where does Bloodmagic rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

I am a bookaholic, written and Audible, and I rank Helen Harper's Blood Destiny series up there with some of my all time favorite listens. I originally purchased Bloodfire (book #1) because it was on sale and oh my gosh I was looking for book 2 (Blood Destiny) Audible availability before I was even done with book 1.I can not recommend this series any more highly. If you like C.E Murphy, Anne Bishop, Patricia Briggs, Ann Aguirre, Diana Rowland, Kate Locke, etc... You will love he Blood Destiny series.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Mack Smith is an awesome kicka** h that is fun to read about and of course Coorigan is an excellent alpha H.

Which character – as performed by Saskia Maarleveld – was your favorite?

The narrator, Saskia Maarleveld, is fabulous! Please don't change her in the upcoming audio releases for books 3+.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I am not much of a reviewer because I would rather be reading and I tend to like a wide variety of authors. But I do read reviews to find new authors,so I hope this helps someone else find a new great author.

Any additional comments?

Too bad they do not have the whole series available at Audible but it appears (based on Amazon.com info) the audio version of books 3 through 5 will become available throughout the summer: Bloodrage (#3) a July 7, 2014, Blood Politics(#4) a July 7, 2014, and Boodlust(#5) - Aug. 5, 2014. And yet I still am too impatient so I will probably read them now and listen later...

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Page 1 of 6