The Lake House

Customer Reviews

13,662 Ratings

Overall Ratings

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8,146
  • 4 Stars
    3,843
  • 3 Stars
    1,098
  • 2 Stars
    324
  • 1 Stars
    251

Sorted By Most Useful

5 out of 5 stars
By Maria on 30-10-15

BRAVO!!!!!!!

I am an enormous Kate Morton fan, as well as a devoted Caroline Lee fan. I believe wholeheartedly that The Lake House is the best yet for both women. I listened nearly straight through -- up until the point about 4 hours from the end when I realized I was getting too close to the last words and forced myself to slow it down. I wanted it to last forever! While some puzzle pieces were simple enough to figure out from early on, others were a complete surprise at the end. Caroline Lee was once again brilliant, and narrated the entire book perfectly from start to finish. I couldn't even imagine a Kate Morton book without her voice in my head. The scenes of Cornwall were deliciously descriptive, and made me want to visit. The carefully woven web of the plot was superb, and I felt so incredibly satisfied at the end. All in all, a terrific book! The only downside is that I have to once again wait patiently for the next...

Read more Hide me

123 of 134 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Mel on 08-12-15

The Morton Formula


When I began reading Morton I envisioned some grande dame writing her novels from an aging manor in the English countryside. I was surprised to finally see that this Australian author, that so deftly slips her readers into chapters from history, is about the same age as my own daughter. The Lake House takes place in Cornwall, England between 1930 and about 2003, following the tried and true formula that Morton has used from the beginning of her career: submersive period pieces that neatly tie a past mystery to a moment of intrigue in the future. The mystery here revolves around the abduction of a well-to-do family's (Anthony and Eleanor Edevane) infant son, taken from their estate during a party at their grand estate. The case was retired, never solved.

....Cut to 2003, where a troubled Detective Constable Sadie Sparrow (with secrets of her own), becomes intrigued with the old case and searches out one of the kidnapped infant's sisters. Alice Edevane is a famous mystery/crime writer, advanced in years and very ill. What follows is a complex story that unravels with a surprise around every corner.

Morton never disappoints even though she doesn't stray from her formulaic structure and some *coincidences* are a little hard to swallow. The textured and layered story keeps you too busy to dwell on any awkward contrivances, following along as every detailed is put into place. Her characters are more definitive of central casting than out of central casting, all integral parts of the story, both physically and psychologically drawn. Lake House seemed to have a larger cast involved in the plot than her other books, and felt at times like keeping track of Orange A while juggling Oranges A, B, C, & D.

You may find yourself wondering if you've missed a turn somewhere along the line and wandered passed a landmark you've seen before if you have read her other books; a tiny problem with such formulaic reads by authors with a definitive style. But, it is entertaining and moves quickly, and who doesn't enjoy a little sleuthing in an old English estate with a mysterious past? Recommend to fans of this genre.

Read more Hide me

121 of 134 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Elle W on 01-01-16

Slow Getting Into, But Then Impossible to Put Down

It took me a while to become invested in this story: partly because the many shifts between various point-of-views and time periods. There's quite a bit of exposition, I felt, in the beginning, also. Necessary information but not necessarily interesting.

Yet it's easy to care about the two central characters, Alice and Sadie, right from the start--they are interesting and likable.. That, along with Caroline Lee's superb narrative style, provided enough incentive to keep listening until things really got good. By mid-way through, the mystery and the plights of the various characters had me hooked. I didn't want to stop listening.

I'll admit, though, mostly because this is what I was in the mood for, I was hoping for a bit more romance. Besides the relationship between Eleanor and Anthony, though, very little of the story is about love or romance. The theme is mainly focused on parental devotion to children/the things a loving parent would do for a child, and the resolution of mysteries. The stories of the multiple characters intertwine perfectly to this end, making this a very satisfying book to read/listen to.

I first found this book because I love Liane Moriarty books and Caroline Lee is the narrator for a couple of them... I'm so glad I did. While this book cannot be precisely compared to Moriarty's style of fiction, there is much about The Lake House that will appeal appeal to Moriarty fans. I'd especially recommend The Lake House to readers who enjoyed The Last Anniversary and The Husband's Secret.

Read more Hide me

30 of 35 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Ruth M. Penson on 03-11-15

A fairy tale for adults

A wonderfully written book with mysteries within mysteries. I could not stop listening, but did not want it to end! 5 stars!

Read more Hide me

41 of 49 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Lacey on 30-10-15

Highly recommended!

Fully developed story that was incredibly well written. A good story, one that will keep your attention and keep you guessing. Caroline Lee's reading was theatrical enough to add to the story without distracting - one of my favorite performances so far in audio books.

This is an audio book I will listen to again.

Read more Hide me

35 of 42 people found this review helpful

2 out of 5 stars
By Marilyn on 26-12-15

Tedious!

This book dragged on forever! The story could have been good if one half the length. I was so glad when it was finally over! I love listening to Caroline Lee but even she could not endear me to this book. I found myself drifting off over and over and having no idea what had been read for the last 10 minutes. I kept rewinding and relistening for the first half of the book. By the 2nd half, I didn't care enough to rewind. The only reason I kept listening was I had nothing else to do in my commute time and I really did want to know how the story ended. It was just painful getting to the end.

Read more Hide me

23 of 28 people found this review helpful

Page 1 of 179