Arena

  • by Simon Scarrow, T. J. Andrews
  • Narrated by David Thorpe
  • 15 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Arena is a Sunday Times best-selling novel from Simon Scarrow, author of Invictus, Centurion and The Gladiator, and T.J. Andrews. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell.
It is AD 41. The city of Rome is a dangerous place.
Optio Macro of the Second Legion, recently decorated for courage on the battlefield, can't wait to leave the teeming city behind. He's dismayed when he's compelled to stay in Rome to train Marcus Valerius Pavo, a young gladiatorial recruit.
Though fearless Pavo has fought for his life before, he's a novice in the arenas. But he's a driven man, with a goal dearer than survival - to avenge his father's death at the hands of a champion gladiator. Will he live to face his nemesis?

More

What the Critics Say

"Ferocious and compelling." (Daily Express)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

love it

as always a good action packed story with plenty of chuckles. macro is a favourite of mine with or without cato .very good
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

A devious tale

What did you like most about Arena?

My son thought this was a thrilling and fast moving story. He particularly liked the tricky Greeks called Palllas and Marena(?) who could never be trusted to do what they said.


Who was your favorite character and why?

Macro (of macro and Cato fame) who was always straight to the point and took any disaapointment in his stride.


Which scene did you most enjoy?

The best bit was when Marena got his come uppance at the end... In a truly Roman way.


If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

Much better than Gladiator


Read full review

- Paul

Book Details

  • Release Date: 23-08-2013
  • Publisher: Headline