Centurion : Eagles of the Empire

  • by Simon Scarrow
  • Narrated by Jonathan Keeble
  • Series: Eagles of the Empire
  • 12 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Centurion, a no. 1 best-seller, is the unputdownable eighth novel in Simon Scarrow's Eagle's of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.
In the first century AD the Roman Empire faces a new threat from its long-standing enemy Parthia. Parthia is vying with Rome for control of Palmyra, an officially neutral kingdom. Palmyra's royal household is on the brink of open revolt, and so a task force under the command of experienced soldiers Macro and Cato is dispatched to defend its king and guard its borders. When Parthia hears of the Roman army's presence, it starts amassing its troops for war.
Macro's cohort must march against the enemy, deep into treacherous territory. If Palmyra is not to fall into the clutches of Parthia, they will have to defeat superior numbers in a desperate siege. The quest for a lasting peace has never been more challenging, nor more critical for the future of the Empire.

More

What the Critics Say

"Simon Scarrow has developed a strong following... a former ancient history lecturer who knows his stuff, and brings the ancient world back to life with verve and plenty of action." (Brisbane News)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

I enjoyed it

Okay none of the characters or plot are going to be a surprising however the reading is very enjoyable. Some of the recurring rounds of battle could have been edited out and the tension that would have really brought the book to life was missing. Yet it pottered along and much as it looks like I'm not selling this very well I can only add I would choose another book in this series.
Read full review

- Pammy

A Personal Milestone

Cato and Macro are once again pitted against enemies both within and without the ranks of the legions. Set against the Palmyrans, wonderfully mobile horse archers who pose a real challenge to the slow-moving legions and fearful of what the machinations of Narcissus may cost them from within they are sent on a perilous rescue mission. What follows is a fast-moving story full of action and Scarrow’s usual excellent historical knowledge. There is also a romantic interest but one which is included in the story without great obstruction to the overall storyline. She is an excellent female character compared to some of those before.

Keeble’s narration is as usual superb. Reading Centurion means that personally I’ve reached an interesting point in the series because this was one of the earliest audiobooks that I listened to back in the days of shuffling CDs in the car – and didn’t they always seem to end at just the wrong moment leaving an impatient wait for the next motorway junction etc???? It was bought on a whim at a service station after my latest Rebus had finished without me realising it was part of a series. I marked it then as a series to invest in and I have waded through them on Audible as happy as a pig in the proverbial. So now as I move on to the next one, I will finally be reaching out into even fresher territory than ever before. It won’t be long before I do that, of that much I am sure!
Read full review

- Simon

Book Details

  • Release Date: 14-06-2012
  • Publisher: Headline Digital