Dying Light

  • by Stuart MacBride
  • Narrated by John Sessions
  • 5 hrs and 48 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Shortlisted for Theaksons Old Peculiar Crime Novel of the Year, 2008.It starts with a prostitute, stripped naked and beaten to death down by the docks, in the heart of Aberdeen's red light district. For DS Logan MacRae it's a bad start to another bad day. Only a few short months ago, he was the golden boy of Grampian police. But one botched raid later, he's palmed off on a DI everyone knows is a jinx, waiting for the axe to fall with all the other rejects in the "Screw-up Squad". Logan's not going to take it lying down. He's determined to escape DI Steel and her unconventional methods, and the best way to do that is to crack the case in double-quick time. But Rosie Williams won't be the only one making an unscheduled trip to the morgue. Across the city six people are burning to death in a petrol-soaked squat, the doors and windows screwed shut from the outside. And despite Logan's best efforts, it's not long before another prostitute turns up on the slab.Stuart MacBride's characteristic grittiness, gallows humour and lively characterisation are on full display here, confirming his status as the rising star of crime fiction.


What the Critics Say

"The story is violent and bloody; some of the crimes are vicious, and MacBride doesn't hold back on the details. But there is plenty of dark humour, and a warmth to the portrayal of the police officers which lightens an otherwise grim tale by this very talented writer." (Sunday Telegraph)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Dreadful narration

Would you listen to Dying Light again? Why?

love the story but will probably read the book again rather than listen

Who might you have cast as narrator instead of John Sessions?

Steve Worsley or Stuart himself, narration was terrible

Any additional comments?

would love an unabridged version read by Steve Worsley

Read full review

- Val McWilliam

2nd book in the series

this is the second book in the series I have listen to and like the first it was a good story well tead
Read full review

- ChrisH

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-02-2007
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited