Hullo Russia, Goodbye England

  • by Derek Robinson
  • Narrated by Nick McArdle
  • 9 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Having survived a double tour on Lancasters in WW2 (and won two DFCs), Flight Lieutenant Silk rejoins Bomber Command much later and qualifies to fly the Vulcan bomber. Welcoming him, the airbase commander says: “You have the best, and the worst, job in the world. You have the Vulcan, incomparably the finest bomber. That's the best bit. Your job is to fly to the Soviet Union and destroy cities. That's the worst bit. If Moscow decides to go berserk, Soviet bombers can attack us with nuclear weapons - enough to turn these islands into a smoking wasteland.”
Trouble ahead. And when the lovely Zoe brings politics to the party, the mixture is explosive.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A Great Book by Britain's most unsung author

Derek Robinson has written a number of novels, most of which I have read and I have really really enjoyed all of them. This one is no exception.

The black humour, technical detail, characters all hit the mark for me. His first novel (Goshawk Squadron) was recommended for the Booker Prize in 1971, Another, Piece of Cake, was made into a tv series in the late 80's.

Please just buy this and if you love it, spread the word. Derek Robinson deserves wider recognition!

There are other works by the Author available in audio format, but for some reason they aren't here on Audible (yet). I will download them as soon as they are, despite having read them in hard copy. They are that good.

Read full review

- J. Chettleburgh

An Insult to the V-Force

The plot is ludicrous, the characters are two-dimensional caricatures, and the puerile humour of most of the dialogues quickly becomes annoying. The author clearly does not understand how the V-Force operated, and there are numerous, serious, technical errors. It is easy to see why this book, by an already established author, originally had to be self-published.
Read full review

- Philip

Book Details

  • Release Date: 19-03-2010
  • Publisher: ISIS Audio Books