Journey to the West is one of the Chinese Noble Classics.
In ancient China a magical monkey appears, creating chaos everywhere he goes. The only way to put his tricks and talents to good use is to make him protector of Xuanzang, a young and handsome monk determined to travel from China to India in search of precious scriptures.
Monkey and his fellow disciples, Piggy and Sandy, have to protect Xuanzang from monsters and demons who think they can live forever just by taking bites out of the monk.
Can Xuanzang and his loyal disciples reach India safely and find what they seek? Do they have enough confidence and courage to conquer the demons, both those lurking around them and those within their own hearts?
Full of humour and adventure, Journey to the West is a story of self-discovery and the pursuit of excellence. Written by Chinese scholar Wu Cheng’en more than four hundred years ago, it reflects everyone’s pilgrimage toward truth, peace, and beauty.
If you enjoy this, you can find three other Real Reads Chinese Classics: Dream of the Red Chamber, The Water Margin, and The Three Kingdoms.
©2011 Christine Sun (P)2013 Christine Sun
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £4.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £4.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By anne on 10-02-15

One of my favourite books Ever

I love this story and have read the book many times, listened to a serialisation on radio and another one on TV. I was excited when I realised it was the story of monkey, but disappointed when I saw it was abridged an only 40 + minutes long. However that was long enough to listen to this narrator! She can obviously speak Mandarin but her powers of narration are Dire! She made a wonderfully amusing Chinese Classic sound like a second rate children's story read by an untalented older sister. It should be an unabridged version read by a professional and then it would be a pleasure to see others enjoy it as much as I have for years past.

Read more Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Joshua Ostrewich on 26-03-15


What did you like best about Journey to the West? What did you like least?

The story, the characters, the adventure. Everything about Journey to the West is amazing, unfortunately this version is extremely condensed to the point of distraction.

Would you be willing to try another book from Wu Cheng'en and Christine Sun ? Why or why not?


What three words best describe Michelle Tate’s performance?

Stylized, childish (not in a mean way), quiet.

Do you think Journey to the West needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?


Any additional comments?

I wish the full book was available for audible. I own two different physical versions and they're amazing reads. Unfortunately, for me, this version was a bit too dumbed down.

Read more Hide me

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By John on 13-05-18

A Brief but excellent journey

A great summary of an epic tale, read and enjoy this narrative of the journey to the West!

Read more Hide me
See all reviews