Mercenaries : The Conquest Trilogy

  • by Jack Ludlow
  • Narrated by Jonathan Keeble
  • Series: The Conquest Trilogy
  • 9 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Six brothers, trained since birth to become great warriors, prepare to experience their first taste of battle.... The Norman/French border, 1033. The sons of Tancred de Hauteville are following in their father’s footsteps.
As knights, they have but one true purpose: to fight. But denied service with their Duke, they are forced to take employment as mercenaries: their unequalled battle skills are for hire to the highest bidder.
Victory and defeat, betrayal and revenge combine as the desperation to rule the wealthy Norman lands becomes an intense battle, testing even the strongest of ties.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Gripping medieval history

by Nicolas, Hertfordshire, UK
This, the first book of a trilogy devoted to the Norman family that made such an impression on southern Italy in the mid-11th century, is well-researched and weaves interesting history with vivid main characters. The author paints a strong picture of the political and personal machinations of the time...and this is all heightened by Jonathan Keeble's expert delivery. He delineates the characters, pushes the story along, and explains clearly the (at times) complex politics and devious machinations as well as the dominating Norman military tactics. If only he had had a bit more help with pronunciation of the Italian and Norman names, it would have been perfect. In any case, I bought this, the first novel and immediately went on to the other two, spending more time in the gym than I had anticipated! In any case, he is a TOP reader.

Read full review

- N

Book Details

  • Release Date: 18-06-2010
  • Publisher: ISIS Audio Books