The Eagle's Conquest : Eagles of the Empire

  • by Simon Scarrow
  • Narrated by David Thorpe
  • Series: Eagles of the Empire
  • 13 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome!
The Eagle's Conquest is the thrilling second novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Essential reading for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.
Britannia, AD 43. Bleak, rainy and full of vicious savages, Britannia is a land that Cato, solider of the Second Legion, wishes Rome didn't want to conquer. And as right-hand man to Centurion Macro, Cato sees the very worst of his native Britons, battling alongside his commander in bloodier combat than he could ever have imagined. But the Britons are fighting back with Roman weapons - which means someone in their own ranks is supplying arms to the enemy. Cato and Macro are about to discover even deadlier adversaries than the British barbarians....


What the Critics Say

"Gripping and moving." ( The Times)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Excellent Sequel

Simon Scarrow has created two characters who go together extremely well despite their differences. This book continues to follow their exploits in Britain and includes some minor engagements and a significant climactic battle with a genuinely exciting ending.

The combination of the well-rounded characters, Scarrow's detailed knowledge of his subject area and David Thorpe's excellent narration make this a genuinely compelling package that I would recommend to anyone interested in the genre though the books are probably better read in order.

The weakness still, as I write, is that this series has gaps in it on Audible that remain unplugged for whatever reason so have to be sought in other formats.
Read full review

- Simon

Fantastic Listen

Thoroughly enjoyed listening the trails and tribulations of Cato and Marco, I like how the author kept things short and sweet not giving long instances of build up without action. Can’t wait for the next !!!!
Read full review

- patrick callaghan

Book Details

  • Release Date: 17-10-2013
  • Publisher: Headline Digital