The Eagle's Prophecy : Eagles of the Empire

  • by Simon Scarrow
  • Narrated by Russell Boulter
  • Series: Eagles of the Empire
  • 13 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome!
The Eagle's Prophecy is the powerful sixth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell.
The Adriatic Sea, AD 45. Cato and Macro, centurions of the Roman army, are horrified to learn that they face possible execution after the death of their commanding officer. Fortunately, the Emperor's secretary is willing to offer them an alternative: to join the marines and hunt down a band of brutal pirates who are decimating not only Rome's reputation, but also a critical supply chain.
As they discover the true horror of battle at sea, Macro and Cato must also remember their real mission: to recover from those pirates a set of scrolls that hold secrets vital to the future of the Roman Empire. Rome will do anything to get them back....

More

What the Critics Say

"It's Spartacus meets Master and Commander in this rip-roaring, thoroughly entertaining tale of swashbuckling adventure from one of the most exciting writers in historical fiction." (Brisbane News)
"Ferocious and compelling." (Daily Express)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Okay but very hammy performance

The story is fine, a good adventure romp and a good addition to the Makro and Cato books, but this book sees a change of narrator. The book was played out to impressions of Terry Thomas, Leslie Phillips, Michael Caine, Captain Pugwash, Ernst Blofelt and Quasimodo. It was pretty ridiculous.
Read full review

- daveyates

Good book spoiled by the reader

Another good book in the series but the narrator is just not right which is a shame
Read full review

- Mr. Sjb Horth

Book Details

  • Release Date: 14-06-2012
  • Publisher: Headline Digital