The Legion : Eagles of the Empire

  • by Simon Scarrow
  • Narrated by Jonathan Keeble
  • Series: Eagles of the Empire
  • 13 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The best-selling author of Centurion and The Gladiator returns with another action-packed Roman adventure.
Trouble is brewing in Egypt. Rebel gladiator Ajax and his men have been posing as Roman soldiers and attacking naval bases, merchant vessels, and villages. Prefect Cato and Centurion Macro have been charged with the task of tracking down the renegade warrior before the problem gets out of control. Joining forces with Legion III, they hope to destroy their enemy on the battlefield. But the cunning gladiator has other ideas....


What the Critics Say

"I don't need this kind of competition!" (Bernard Cornwall)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Continuation of the Same boring Ajax story

More of the same. These books are basically 3 story archs dragged out. The main difference here is that Cato gets half his usual brains alongside some rubbish plot twists. Yawn
Read full review

- james

Macro and Cato Going on a Bear Hunt

I still love these books. There is little better a way to while away some hours than in the company of Marco and Cato especially with the excellent Jonathan Keeble at the microphone. This one sees our two heroes led a rather merry dance by their nemesis, the ex-gladiator Ajax. There's lots of great action and a slightly unexpected conclusion as Scarrow once again delivers a high quality adventure. There is also a decent twist in the plot near the end which I personally didn't see coming.

If you like the previous ones you should be as happy as me again with the one small proviso that Ajax's continuing survival does take a little bit of swallowing as the book goes on. Still one of my favourite series though.
Read full review

- Simon

Book Details

  • Release Date: 14-06-2012
  • Publisher: Headline Digital