Treachery : Thomas Kydd

  • by Julian Stockwin
  • Narrated by Christian Rodska
  • Series: Thomas Kydd
  • 10 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Thomas Kydd has dragged himself up in the navy from press-ganged seaman to captain of his own ship. Now he faces disgrace. After offending a general and suffering a personal tragedy, Kydd is sent to guard the Channel Islands. His career in tatters, he then makes a terrible enemy on his own side. When he is brutally betrayed off the Normandy coast, only his old friend, Renzi, is willing to stick by him. Then Kydd is given an extraordinary opportunity to salvage his fortunes and return to the sea as captain of a privateer. But privateers are hated by the French and the Royal Navy.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Brilliance in Disgrace!

This is one of my favourite novels from this excellent series. The narration from Christian Rodska is as good as ever - which means top notch for this kind of fiction!

The characters continue to develop and Stockwin is not afraid to put our heroes to the test and make them do things that are against their principles when in extremis making them more human and believable as a result.

As usual it's richly researched with the historical detail imparted woven neatly into the story so that it never intrudes on what is another excellent seafaring yarn!
Read full review

- Simon

A very enjoyable read!

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes I would recommend this audiobook to a friend because if is a good story nicely written, factually good fun and creates a believable picture of life in a wooden wall navy.

What did you like best about this story?

It was different to any other naval fiction I have read.

What about Christian Rodska’s performance did you like?

Easy listening and good, believable vocal characterisation

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

The book in it's entirety moved me to collect the set.

Any additional comments?

I am now collecting the set and have so far bought another 6 books and am listening to them in order.

Read full review

- sharon

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-10-2009
  • Publisher: Audible Studios