When Eight Bells Toll

  • by Alistair MacLean
  • Narrated by Jonathan Oliver
  • 10 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From the acclaimed master of action and suspense. The all-time classic.
Millions of pounds in gold bullion are being pirated in the Irish Sea. Investigations by the British Secret Service, and a sixth sense, have bought Philip Calvert to a bleak, lonely bay in the Western Highlands. But the sleepy atmosphere of Torbay is deceptive. The place is the focal point of many mysterious disappearances. Even the unimaginative Highland Police Sergeant seems to be acting a part. But why?
This story is Alistair MacLean at his enthralling best. It has all the edge-of-the-seat suspense and dry humour that millions of fans have enjoyed for years.


What the Critics Say

"Keeps up its high-wire tension all the way. Not to be missed." (The Guardian)
"A cracker-jack opening. Insistently readable." (Evening Standard)
"Breathless action...and a sterling plot." (Financial Times)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

I love this book.

Ive been reading Alastair Maclean since I was a teenager this book. This book has always been one of my favourite books of his so to find it as an audio book has been a delight. It was hugely enjoyable. I devoured it in 3 listenings.
Read full review

- Rodge

When Eight Bells Toll

This has always been one of my favourite Alistair Maclean books. I have read it a dozen times and, in my head, have used accents and dialects that I thought suited the characters. Now I have listened to someone else's interpretation and, to be honest, am disappointed. I missed the little gems of humour that I always found made this book special, but the narrator seems to have played these down. To me, he also seemed to narrate too "loudly" when I have always "read" the lead character especially to be softer spoken. I doubt I will listen to it again, it will be one of the occasions when a book in the hand is better by far.
Read full review

- Lynne

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-09-2017
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited