When the Eagle Hunts : Eagles of the Empire

  • by Simon Scarrow
  • Narrated by David Thorpe
  • Series: Eagles of the Empire
  • 12 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome! When the Eagle Hunts is the compelling third novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. For fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.
Britannia, AD 44. Cato, a thoughtful junior officer in the Roman army, and his commanding centurion, Macro, are simply pawns in Rome's lust to conquer Britain. During the freezing winter, the two men and their legion fight the native savages in hand-to-hand battles that haunt Cato for days after. But in a place full of enemies, the most vicious are the Druids of the Dark Moon; brutal, merciless men who have captured the wife and children of General Plautius himself. So Macro and Cato are given a mission: to travel deep into enemy territory and recover the hostages. If they fail, the fate of the Roman army may just hang in the balance....

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

And here I'm stuck!

It's a real shame (at least at the time of writing). This is such a great series, extremely well narrated, I love the characters but there are unfortunately gaps after this in the series which even after a year or two show no sign of being filled on Audible.

I'm determined to listen to these in order so will just have to wait. These books are still definitely worth reading but check out the gaps in the series first so you know what the situation is.
Read full review

- Simon

Sharpe's Legion

Where does When the Eagle Hunts rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

In the top 10 percentile.


What was one of the most memorable moments of When the Eagle Hunts?

Um... kinda hard without spoilers, but probably when Macro pretty much offered to pick a fight with a god.


Which scene did you most enjoy?

The rescue at the cart. Very tense and with plenty of emotion, wonderfully conveyed.


Any additional comments?

I doubt I'm the first to draw comparisons between the Eagle series and Sharpe, but it is impossible not to see it. Swap Wellington for Vespasia, Sharpe for Macro and Harper for Cato and you're pretty much there. Well.. in terms of story format anyway. The characters are very different and are wonderfully realised by David Thorpe's outstanding performance. His skill with developing unique and identifiable voices for each and every character, while at the same time not compromising on the quality of the performance is remarkable. He has quickly become one of my favourite narrators.

The story of the book is pretty simple, but it is the telling of it which draws you in. The characters are wonderful - Macro is especially enjoyable as the simple, brutal Centurion who nevertheless is not totally inured to the horrors of war.

If you want solid historical military adventure then it's hard to think of any series better. Nor can I imagine it being performed any better than that shown here.

Read full review

- Andrew Ruddick

Book Details

  • Release Date: 24-10-2013
  • Publisher: Headline Digital