And Still I Rise (Unabridged Selections)

  • by Maya Angelou
  • Narrated by Maya Angelou
  • 0 hrs and 21 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The beloved and best-selling author of I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings reads aloud from her third book of verse. She not only gives life to many of her most cherished poems, but she also presents personal introductions to several favorites, including "One More Round", "Woman Work", and "Life Doesn't Frighten Me". These poems are powerful, distinctive, and fresh, and as always, full of the lifting rhythms of love and remembering. And Still I Rise is written, and read, from the heart, truly a celebration of life.
The thirteen poems included here in their entirety are: "A Kind of Love, Some Day"; "Remembrance"; "Where We Belong, a Duet"; "Refusal"; "California Prodigal"; "Willie"; "One More Round"; "Woman Work"; "And Still I Rise"; "Ain't That Bad?"; "Life Doesn't Frighten Me"; "On Aging"; and "Thank You, Lord".


What the Critics Say

"Her innate rhythm celebrates her verse and offers the poems to listeners as they should be remembered." ( AudioFile) "Vibrant and deep-toned, Angelou's voice wells up from somewhere deep inside." ( Philadelphia Inquirer)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The Greatest

Maya Angelou UPLIFTS me. Because of her I too am a PHENOMENAL WOMAN.
Excellent work!
Read full review

- Hummingbird


I enjoy listening to Maya's voice as an inspiration to carry on in my life struggles.
Read full review

- Dee Whyman

Book Details

  • Release Date: 15-12-2005
  • Publisher: Random House Audio