Conductor's Guide to Mozart's Symphony No. 40 & Symphony No. 41

  • by Gerard Schwarz
  • Narrated by Gerard Schwarz
  • 1 hrs and 8 mins
  • Speech

Publisher's Summary

By the time Mozart turned 20 he was already one of the most skilled composers of his day. His output included not only symphonies and concertos but piano pieces, serenades, arias, operas, and smaller species of musical theater, songs, and church music. Symphony No. 40 in G Minor forms the centerpiece of the "final trilogy". It is a work of complex character, one whose music embodies passion and formal elegance, sorrow and exultation, darkness and light. Mozart's brilliant use of counterpoint, the simultaneous sounding of different melodic strands, makes the finale of his "Jupiter" Symphony one of the outstanding musical achievements of the Classical period. The Musically Speaking Conductor's Guides are your link to an appreciation of the greatest classical music ever performed. Let Maestro Gerard Schwarz enrich your classical music listening enjoyment by illuminating the great works of the Masters with revealing commentary and educational insight.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 22-12-2005
  • Publisher: Musically Speaking, Inc.