Plantagenet (BBC Radio 4: Classic Serial)

  • by Mike Walker
  • Narrated by David Warner, Jane Lapotaire, Joseph Cohen-Cole, Neil Stuke, Ed Stoppard
  • 2 hrs and 50 mins
  • Radio/TV Program

Publisher's Summary

A collection of three plays by Mike Walker, inspired by Holinshed's Chronicles, about the early years of the Plantagenet dynasty. The series was originally broadcast on Radio 4 in the Classic Serials slots on 14, 21, and 28 February 2010. ‘What is a Man?’ - The first of the House of Anjou to be king of England, Henry II's long reign was finally beset by conflict with his sons.

‘John, by the Grace of God’ - The fourth son of Henry II never expected to succeed to the English throne. When he does, he reveals a talent for making enemies.
Starring David Warner, Jane Lapotaire, Ed Stoppard, Joseph Cohen-Cole and Neil Stuke. Directed by Jeremy Mortimer.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Wonderful retelling of the story of Henry II and his four sons. Thought that Mike Walker's play was excellent and absolutely fascinating. So glad I got it.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

A 'must have' for fans of historical drama.

First of an excellent trilogy. If you like this series then try Vivat Rex narrated by the late great Richard Burton.
Read full review

- Rufus

Book Details

  • Release Date: 30-12-2010
  • Publisher: BBC Worldwide Limited