Stairway to Nowhere

  • by Luke James
  • Narrated by Luke James
  • 8 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Stairway to Nowhere is the true story of late 1970s, Birmingham, UK, band Fàshiön. In the brief spotlight of their 15 minutes of fame, Fàshiön toured both the US and UK as an opening band for The Police, did a UK club tour with a then-unknown band from Ireland called U2, opened for The B-52s on their first-ever UK tour, and had a new band called Duran Duran open shows for them.
The book tells the story of how four young, unemployed, working-class gits from the gutters of Brum donned make-up, attitude, weird clothes, and swaggered forth to escape the dreaded clutches of Birmingham's car-factory mentality by conquering the music business. On their voyage of escape and discovery, Fàshiön encounter a plethora of the music industry's sickest practitioners. Join them on their headlong flight up the stairway to nowhere as they cobble together some of the most innovative and original pop music of the time.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

All dressed up with a message to send.

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Take your seat & prepare to experience a crazy, madcap ride aboard one man's stairway to nowhere......but don't get too comfy! The fast pace of the first 2 chapters will leave you wondering why you never took the ride sooner.
On the surface this appears to be an honest no holds barred journey into the world of rock 'n' roll in the late seventies (early eighties), but deep down it is the story of the pain (albeit sado masochistic at times) of the music business as experienced through the eyes of Luke James – one member of the phenomena that was Fàshiön.
Packed with 'Music Biz' anecdotes (all veneered with a smattering of 'choice' language), this will entertain anyone who had the privilege of being part of the scene, & will even interest those who are too young to remember when bands actually made an effort & played instruments..... LIVE!!
Forget train sets........take a battered old van & experience a roller-coaster!!!

Read full review

- Daniel Truelove

Book Details

  • Release Date: 13-04-2015
  • Publisher: Luke James