The Great Poets

  • by John Keats
  • Narrated by Samuel West, Michael Sheen
  • 1 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Naxos AudioBooks continues its new series of Great Poets, represented by collections of their most popular poems in one program. Although John Keats had a short life, he produced a series of outstanding poems, many of which appeared first in letters to his sister. He was largely unappreciated during his lifetime and died in Rome at the age of 26. Most of his 150 poems were written in just nine extraordinary months in 1819. This selection contains some of his finest works, including the principal "Odes", "La Belle Dame Sans Merci", "Old Meg", and "Much Have I Travelled".
Listen to more great poets, including William Blake, Rudyard Kipling, W. B. Yeats, and Great Poets of the Romantic Age.
PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your My Library section along with the audio.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Nice readings but lacks titles and spaces

A good selection of Keats's poems and the readings are really nice - much better than the heavily mannered ones of some famous actors. I would give it 5 stars if it were not for that fact that many of the readings have no title or introduction and the gaps between some of them are too short. So if you are not a Keats expert, you have no idea what you are listening to, or where one poem stops and the next one begins, or whether it is a complete poem or an excerpt. OK, so some of them don't have titles. Why then can't they say something like "Sonnet fifteen from Literary remains". Or "Excerpt from Lamia Book 2 lines122-149" The two readers sound similar so if they alternate it doesn't help either. Shoddily put together, I would say, and a real shame.
Read full review

- Kristina

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-01-2008
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks