The Life and Works of Bach

  • by Jeremy Siepmann
  • Narrated by Jeremy Siepmann, John Shrapnel, Trevor Nichols, Ruth Sillers, David Timson
  • 4 hrs and 37 mins
  • original_recording Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Although now beloved and revered by millions as the greatest composer who ever lived, Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750) was best known in his lifetime as an organist, and was eclipsed in fame as a composer by two of his twenty children. For the last twenty-seven years of his life he was a schoolteacher and choir director whose duties extended to meal supervision and dormitory inspection. Yet throughout his career he composed a vast body of music which is amongst the most joyful, dancing and enrapturing ever written. This portrait-in-sound includes many examples of the music that made him immortal. With compelling narration by Jeremy Siepmann, character portrayals by acclaimed actors, and the interpolation of over twenty-five substantial musical extracts reflecting the development of one of music’s most enduringly awe-inspiring composers, we are transported back three centuries straight into the life of Johann Sebastian Bach. This innovative sense of immediacy is at the heart of this comprehensive audio-biography, depicting the life of a composer whose music is universally admired.
PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your My Library section along with the audio.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Not as good as the others

This edition was a little lacking in content as well as in music choice. Not as good as the others in the series
Read full review

- Christine

The perfect way to learn and listen to Bach

This is audio books at their best! How else to get a great grasp of the life of a famous composer than to hear his story, interspersed at appropriate places by samples of his wonderful music? The book brings JS Bach's life into focus, giving us a realistic picture of his life in the late 1600 and early 1700s in Germany. And just when you might be getting a little too much detail the audio brakes into a sample of his trademark Baroque music. Bliss!
Read full review

- ThomasOConnor

Book Details

  • Release Date: 29-10-2012
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks