The Modern Scholar: Understanding the Fundamentals of Classical Music

  • by Richard Freedman
  • Narrated by Richard Freedman
  • 7 hrs and 3 mins
  • Lecture

Publisher's Summary

Music is a performative art. It stresses movement through time and engages our suggestive sense of its passing. Music has tendency, it normally invokes goals of various sorts, both near and far. Music has closure, a sensation not just of ending, but of expecting no more. Music also has accent. It is a dynamic process of stresses and nuance that often varies in dimension from one performance to the next.
This course is not designed as a chronological survey of musical history and its many stylistic periods or moments, nor an exploration of the lives and output of individual composers. Instead, these lectures focus on the development of listening skills. Through this course you will develop new levels of aural awareness that will allow you to better appreciate the richness, complexity and excitement at the heart of all great concert music.
PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your My Library section along with the audio.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Not my best pick

I was eager to listen to this audiobook after listening to another title in the same collection (Masterpieces of Western Music) but I was finally disappointed with Mr. Freedman.

The lectures are full of "if you listen carefully you will hear" - which of course presupposes an exercised ear which is not my case - while Mr. Lependorf (Masterpieces) would take small bits of music apart to MAKE you hear.

I have no musical preparation but could enjoy fully from Masterpieces... while felt left aside in these lectures. Probably someone with more musical experience would profit more but I'd say that these classes should be thought for basic students and not for intermediate.
Read full review

- Flaminia

Book Details

  • Release Date: 22-09-2008
  • Publisher: Recorded Books