Tristan und Isolde

  • by Christopher Cook
  • Narrated by Christopher Cook
  • 1 hrs and 19 mins
  • original_recording Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Tristan und Isolde centers around two lovers who dream of romantic love and yearn for oblivion. No composer had written such a work before. Turning his back on traditional tonality, Wagner changed the course of Western music with Tristan und Isolde. But there’s also fact behind the fiction: while he wrote his opera, Wagner was in love with another’s man’s wife, Mathilde Wesendonk. So Tristan and Isolde are also Richard and Mathilde.
Christopher Cook explores the making of a masterpiece, the story of lovers gripped by a passion that can only be consummated beyond the grave, a forbidden love that is blind to duty, honor and social obligation.
PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your My Library section along with the audio.


Audible Editor Reviews

This audiobook investigates the revolutionary character of Wagner's opera Tristan and Isolde. Author and narrator Christopher Cook combines historical, musical, and critical information. He presents nuanced guidance to this stunning opera. Pointing out the radical nature of its composition in the context of western classical music, Cook leads listeners deep into the psychological heart of this tragic love story. Listeners will be shocked to learn some of philosophy that went on in the composition of the opera - for example, that the stage represented consciousness for Wagner, while the pit orchestra was supposed to be the "deep unconscious" of man. Cook's clear, engaging narration, combined with generous clips from the opera itself, will keep listeners from being pressing pause on this audiobook.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A good place to start

A marvellous and informative introduction to this opera. Well read, intelligent and insightful. The mix of story, comment and music works very well. If Wagner has always felt inaccessible to you then this is a good place to start. Highly recommended.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 26-10-2012
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks