• Bandersnatch

  • C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien, and the Creative Collaboration of the Inklings
  • By: Diana Pavlac Glyer
  • Narrated by: Michael Ward
  • Length: 6 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 26-09-16
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: TreeHouseStudios
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars 4.6 (5 ratings)

Summary

C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien, and the Inklings met each week to read and discuss each other's work-in-progress, offering both encouragement and blistering critique. How did these conversations shape the books they were writing? How does creative collaboration enhance individual talent? And what can we learn from their example? Bandersnatch offers an inside look at the Inklings of Oxford, and a seat at their table at the Eagle and Child pub. It shows how encouragement and criticism made all the difference in The Lord of the Rings, The Chronicles of Narnia, and dozens of other books written by the members of their circle. You'll learn what made these writers tick, and more: inspired by their example, you'll discover how collaboration can help your own creative process and lead to genius breakthroughs in whatever work you do.
©2016 Diana Pavlac Glyer (P)2016 Diana Pavlac Glyer
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £19.39

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £19.39

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Xander on 05-05-18

I absolutely love this book!

I absolutely loved this book! So much so that I read it twice, which is very rare for me. Not only did it give great insight into the world of C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien and the Inklings but it very successfully argued that the Inklings worked together to influence, promote and support each other in all aspects of life. The idea of creative collaboration for writers and those concerned with writing strongly resonates with me and is a feature that is very important in my own life. I would strongly recommend this book not only to those interested in writing or the publishing of books, but also anyone who works collectively or in the creative arts. And best of all, this book was created for a more generalised audience from the academic work also by Diana Pavlac Glyer, "The Company They Keep: C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien as writers in community", which I am currently enjoying greatly.

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Kassandra on 26-06-17

A thought provoking book

I thought this book was just going to be about the Inklings and their writing, but it was so much more. It made me think about how I write, and, more importantly, how I collaborate. If not quite 'life changing' it is 'life adjusting' that bit of my life that writes.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Amazon Customer on 15-06-17

The Inklings and the Creative Process Opened Up

This book is honest, thoroughly insightful, and sympathetic to the subject. The obvious work of love represented by this book becomes clear when considering how many letters, and documents must have been reviewed, and analyzed in order to produce the understanding presented in the book.

Although this work will most likely appeal to fans of Tolkien and Lewis who want to understand their relationship and that of the Inklings, it should also be read by anyone interested in writing or undertaking a creative endeavor. The insight derived from the author's effort is immeasurably valuable in that regard.

Read more Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Stan on 06-02-17

One of the best Inklings books ever

What made the experience of listening to Bandersnatch the most enjoyable?

Phenomenal research leads to a host of new information about CS Lewis, JRR Tolkien, and other Inklings. So well organized that you feel like you are easily following her outline. Extremely well read by Ward who is a Lewis scholar himself.

What did you like best about this story?

The research, new information, easily understood.

Which character – as performed by Michael Ward – was your favorite?

There are no characters but Ward's reading is exceptionally good.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

If possible yes

Any additional comments?

I have read scores of books about the Inklings - this is one of the very best.

Read more Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all reviews