A Daring Life

  • by Carolyn J. Brown
  • Narrated by Frances Fuller
  • 2 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Mississippi author Eudora Welty, the first living writer to be published in the Library of America series, mentored many of today's greatest fiction writers and is a fascinating woman, having lived the majority of the 20th century (1909-2001). Her life reflects a century of change and is closely entwined with many events that mark our recent history.
This biography follows this 20th-century path while telling Welty's story, beginning with her parents and their important influence on her reading and writing life. The chapters that follow focus on her education and her most important teachers; her life during the Depression and how her career, just getting started, is interrupted by World War II; and how she shows independence and courage through her writing during the turbulent civil rights period of the 1950s and 1960s.
After years of care giving and the deaths of all her immediate family members, Welty persevered and won the Pulitzer Prize in 1973 for The Optimist's Daughter. Her popularity soared in the 1980s after she delivered the three William E. Massey Lectures to standing-room-only crowds at Harvard, and the lectures were later published as One Writer's Beginnings and became a New York Times best seller.
This biography intends to introduce listeners to one of the most significant women writers of the past century, a prolific author who transcended her Mississippi roots and wrote short stories, novels, and non-fiction that will endure for all time.


What the Critics Say

“A beautifully written portrait of Eudora Welty and her amazing life. This intimate look at Eudora Welty is a welcome addition her readers.” (William R. Ferris, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill)
“This book is full and insightful.” (Clyde Edgerton, author of The Night Train and Walking Away)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-11-2012
  • Publisher: University Press Audiobooks