Al Davis: Behind the Raiders Shield

  • by Bruce Kebric, Jon Kingdon, Steve Corkran
  • Narrated by Scott O'Dell
  • 11 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Al Davis was such a polarizing figure that people either admired or despised him. Most cared about what Davis thought on any issue, and he was captivating before an audience. Yet Davis rarely revealed much about himself, his philosophy and decision-making. Everyone knew of Davis and his catchy slogans, especially "Just Win, Baby". But no one knew much about the man. Everyone, it seemed, had a strong opinion about Davis, but precious few had enough information about Davis to proffer an informed description.
For the first time, people will receive an accurate, detailed portrayal of a man in the pantheon of notable sports figures of the 20th century, in a book chock-full of firsthand accounts from those who were present and played a role in many of the seminal moments in Davis illustrious career as the patriarch of the Raiders. Seldom is so much revealed about someone who went to such great lengths to perpetuate an aura of mystery, and control the nature and volume of information disseminated.
Bruce Kebric and Jon Kingdon have teamed with Steve Corkran to take listeners to a place long thought to be forbidden: Behind the Raiders Shield, for an unvarnished look at what it was like working for Al Davis.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A must for Raiders Fans

Fascinating insight into the Raiders organisation written in a way that makes you feel like you're discussing the team over a few beers with a good friend.

As a fan from the UK it was often difficult to find in depth information/news on the Raiders growing up in the 90s and early 2000s. This book makes up for that, Even if it does enhance the depressing feeling of 'what could have been'.

Scott O'Dell does a brilliant job with the narration, truly making it feel like you're a fly on the wall during a chat amongst friends.
Read full review

- Barry

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-10-2017
  • Publisher: Rather be Feared