And Furthermore

  • by Judi Dench
  • Narrated by Samantha Bond
  • 6 hrs and 0 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From the moment Judi Dench appeared as a teenager in the York Mystery Plays it was clear that acting would be her career. Trained at London's Central School of Speech and Drama it was her performance in her 20s as Juliet in Franco Zeffirelli's memorable Old Vic production that turned her into a star. In the theatre since, she has played every classic role from Titania (three times, most recently in 2010) to Cleopatra.
She first became a household name via television, thanks initially to a sit-com, A Fine Romance, in which she played alongside the actor Michael Williams, whom she married in 1971.
She has since made eight series of another sit-com, As Time Goes By (with Geoffrey Palmer), as well as plays and classic serials, Middlemarch and Cranford.
In the cinema, her films have ranged from Ladies In Lavender, opposite Maggie Smith, through Notes on a Scandal with Cate Blanchett to Shakespeare in Love, in which she played Queen Elizabeth, a role that gained her a Hollywood Oscar. But it is her role as 'M' in six James Bond films, beginning with Goldeneye in 1995, that has gained her worldwide recognition. This book is, however, much more than a career record.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A must listen biography

I thoroughly enjoyed listening to this biography. Ideal for anyone who has an interest in the theatre and the greats who walk the boards not to mention a big dollop of Dame Judi's dry wit! Pure pleasure.
Read full review

- Claire

Wonderful and Inspiring

Would you listen to And Furthermore again? Why?

It was full of humour and from the heart. And from the brain too. Wonderful and beautifully read by Samantha Bond. Funny and intelligent, very humanly told.

Any additional comments?

Listeners who thought this was uninteresting must have been listening to something else by accident.

Read full review

- Michele Gentile

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-11-2010
  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Group Limited