Bust Hell Wide Open

  • by Samuel W. Mitcham Jr.
  • Narrated by Dan John Miller
  • 10 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

An intimate biography of Nathan Bedford Forrest, arguably the most interesting figure to emerge from the Civil War - widely admired as a military genius.
At 14 he became the head of his impoverished family, responsible for feeding 11 on the rough American frontier. By 39 he had established himself as a successful plantation owner worth over $1 million. And at 40 years old, Nathan Bedford Forrest enlisted in a Tennessee cavalry regiment - and became a controversial Civil War legend.
The legacy of General Nathan Bedford Forrest is deeply divisive. Best known for being accused of war crimes at the Battle of Fort Pillow and for his role as first grand wizard of the Ku Klux Klan - an organization he later denounced - Forrest has often been studied as a military figure, but never before studied as a fascinating individual who wrestled with the complex issues of his violent times. Bust Hell Wide Open is a comprehensive portrait of Nathan Bedford Forrest as a man: his achievements, failings, reflections, and regrets.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Wizardry in many saddles

This is a really interesting look at the life of a controversial figure from the US civil war. While he must have been difficult to be around, this review is certainly one you’ll want to keep with you for a long time.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

A fair & authentic portrait of CSA's best general

A well written book. Highly recommended for anyone interested in authentic historic accounts rather than the usual modern day demonization of the South and of the brave men who fought and died in defense of their homeland. Bedford Forrest, the Wizard of the Saddle, was probably the greatest of the generals on either side of the war, and this book is a good introduction into both his military genius and his character.
Read full review

- pg33

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-10-2016
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.