Catch a Fire

  • by Timothy White
  • Narrated by Peter Macon
  • 16 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This is the classic biography of reggae legend Bob Marley, updated and revised for the twenty-fifth anniversary of his death. Bob Marley left an indelible mark on modern music, both as a reggae pioneer and as an enduring cultural icon.
Catch a Fire, now a classic rock biography, delves into the life of this man, the leader of a musical and spiritual revolution that continues today. The book chronicles Marley’s life and career, as well as the milieu that shaped his spiritual and political beliefs. Under the supervision of the author’s widow and with the collaboration of a Marley expert, this fourth edition contains a wealth of new material, including many revisions made by the author before his untimely death.
This new edition, factually updated throughout, chronicles Marley’s legacy in recent years, as well as the ongoing controversy over the possibility that Marley’s remains might be exhumed from Nine Mile, Jamaica, and reburied in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, where hundreds of Rastafarians live. Fascinating inside information about the intrigues of the reggae music business, the dramatic rise of Marley’s musical offspring, the complex legal struggles surrounding the Marley estate, and a sweeping social history of modern Jamaica, as well as the Rastafarian religion, also make up this expanded edition.


What the Critics Say

“A gripping biography. I enjoyed it immensely.” (James A. Michener, #1  New York Times bestselling author)
“Probably the finest biography ever written about a popular musician.” ( San Francisco Chronicle)
“White has a deep appreciation for reggae’s immediacy, hypnotic power, and contradictions…An exhaustively researched labor of love.”—Chicago Sun-Times


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

catch a fyah

loved it,a riveting book I just couldn't put down,how long shall they kill our prophets.

Read full review

- Sandra

Book Details

  • Release Date: 28-03-2013
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.