• by Bob Dylan
  • Narrated by Sean Penn
  • 5 hrs and 6 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Bob Dylan's Chronicles: Volume One explores the critical junctions in his life and career. Through Dylan's eyes and open mind, we see Greenwich Village, circa 1961, when he first arrives in Manhattan. Dylan's New York is a magical city of possibilities: smoky, nightlong parties; literary awakenings; transient loves and unbreakable friendships. Elegiac observations are punctuated by jabs of memories, penetrating and tough. With side trips to New Orleans, Woodstock, Minnesota and points west, Chronicles: Volume One is an intimate and intensely personal recollection of extraordinary times. Revealing, poetical, passionate and witty, Chronicles: Volume One is a mesmerizing window on Bob Dylan's thoughts and influences. Dylan's voice is distinctively American: generous of spirit, engaged, fanciful, and rhythmic. Utilizing his unparalleled gifts of storytelling and the exquisite expressiveness that are the hallmarks of his music, Bob Dylan turns Chronicles: Volume One into a poignant reflection on life, and the people and places that helped shape the man and the art.


What the Critics Say

"Volume 1 of Dylan's memoirs was pretty cool to begin with. But to have it read by Sean Penn on audio takes it to a new level: the most talented songwriter of all time as performed by the most talented actor of his generation. Mr. Penn clearly has a blast inhabiting the role and navigating Dylan's jagged, impressionistic prose." (The New York Times)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

awesome book

loved it.
interesting. Well narrated. I learned loads as Bob Dylan was before my time.
Read full review


Really Enjoyable

Would you listen to Chronicles again? Why?

yes,there a lot of good information and references,about bob's life and work.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

the whole book,there different part of his life,just more detail.

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

made me think about different musical influences,and his emotional time in New York

Read full review

- John Warwick

Book Details

  • Release Date: 14-10-2004
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio