David Attenborough's Life Stories

  • by David Attenborough
  • Narrated by David Attenborough
  • 3 hrs and 9 mins
  • original_recording Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The complete BBC Radio 4 series written and presented by Sir David Attenborough, featuring all 20 episodes about some of the strangest plants and creatures from around the world. One of the nation's most popular presenters examines 20 marvels of the natural world from his extraordinary and pioneering experiences.
What was Sir David's first pet? Which animal would he most like to be? What creature lays 'the biggest egg in the world'? How do you communicate with an ancient nomadic community in Fiji? And what did Sir David do when confronted by a ten-foot-long reptile?
His enthusiasm is as infectious as ever, and conveys a unique fascination on topics as diverse as the Sloth, Monstrous Flowers, the Platypus, Giant Birds, Dragons, the Fire Salamander, Faking Fossils, the Coelacanth, the Dodo, Bird's-nest Soup and the Large Blue Butterfly. So listen to these stories to find out the real reason why animals sing, the story behind a 150-million-year-old feather, and what it is about snakes that really unnerves Sir David.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Attenborough's a hit once again...

Has David Attenborough ever done something to the dislike of... anyone? This collection of little stories and incidents in his life are beautifully narrated in that most recognisable of voices. Humour mingles in with his clear love for all things wild and one can't help but to smile at both. Hours of listening that you find yourself drifting off to, but rewinding, just to hear what he has to say.
Read full review

- Wil


I thoroughly enjoyed listening to this book - David has the most wonderful, listen-able voice. You can hear the enthusiasm he has in every sentence, beautifully delivered to draw your mind into his world. I have listened to this book around 6 or 7 times now and it hasn't yet grown tired or old for me. My only complaint? I want more life stories!
Read full review

- Mark

Book Details

  • Release Date: 28-10-2009
  • Publisher: BBC Worldwide Limited