Everest - The First Ascent

  • by Harriet Tuckey
  • Narrated by Sandra Duncan
  • 14 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

On 29 May, 1953, the summit of Mount Everest was finally reached. The achievement brought fame and honours to many involved - except the man who made the ascent possible.
Now, for the first time, drawing upon previously unseen diaries and letters, rare archive material and interviews, Everest - The First Ascent tells the remarkable story of Griffith Pugh, the forgotten team member whose scientific breakthroughs ensured the world’s highest mountain could be climbed.
A doctor and physiologist, Griffith Pugh revolutionised almost every aspect of British high-altitude mountaineering, transforming the climbers’ attitude to oxygen, the clothes they wore, their equipment, fluid intake, and acclimatisation. Yet, far from receiving the acclaim he was due, he was met with suspicion and ridicule. His scientific contributions were, quite simply, at odds with old-fashioned notions of derring-do and the gentlemanly amateurism that dogged the sport.
This insightful biography shows Pugh to be troubled, abrasive, yet brilliant. Eight years in the writing, closely researched, and told with unflinching honesty by Pugh’s daughter, Harriet Tuckey, Everest - The First Ascent is the compelling portrait of an unlikely hero.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Occasionally, I buy an audiobook because it strikes me as likely to be better value to me than buying the hardback. I got it wrong with this one! It is a superb story, really well told and utterly fascinating. When I'd finished listening, I went straight out and bought the hardback too.

This is a unique insight into Himalayan exploration and human physiology. Harriet Tuckey has a privileged viewpoint, being the daughter of the subject of the book, Griffith Pugh, and she has been able to do a super job of researching an amazing life.

A great book.
Read full review

- Tom

Book Details

  • Release Date: 23-05-2013
  • Publisher: Random House Audiobooks