Fall Down Seven Times, Get Up Eight

  • by Naoki Higashida, David Mitchell - translator, Keiko Yoshida - translator
  • Narrated by David Mitchell, Thomas Judd
  • 3 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Following his groundbreaking international best seller The Reason I Jump, written when he was only 13, Naoki Higashida offers equally illuminating and practical insights into autism from his current perspective as a young man.
Fall Down Seven Times, Get Up Eight is Naoki Higashida's gently subversive follow-up to his phenomenally popular book The Reason I Jump, which he wrote as a 13-year-old boy with severe autism. Now he shares his thoughts and experiences as a young man, exploring a range of topics from education, identity, family and society to personal growth. He has also written an enigmatic story, 'A Journey', especially for this edition, which is introduced by David Mitchell (cotranslator with Keiko Yoshida). Part memoir, part critique of a world that sees disabilities ahead of disabled people, it opens a window into the mind and world of an autistic, nonverbal young adult, providing remarkable insights into autism in general.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Everyone should listen to this book

This book offers a very uplifting and enlightening look into the mind of an incredible young man.
It cannot fail to touch all who listen to it regardless of their background.
This book made me hate my own ignorance but then filled me with joy and had me near to tears several times.
Naoki Higashida is a warrior amongst us, and worthy of high praise.
Read full review

- Jamie

Leonardo divinci of the mind

a captivating linguistic masterpiece from a section of society so often thought to have nothing meaningful to say. thank you for sharing your everyday thought with such finesse and clarity
Read full review

- IN

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-07-2017
  • Publisher: Sceptre