Girl Unbroken

  • by Regina Calcaterra
  • Narrated by Rosie Maloney, Regina Calcaterra
  • 11 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In the highly anticipated sequel to her New York Times best seller, Etched in Sand, Regina Calcaterra pairs with her youngest sister, Rosie, to tell Rosie's harrowing yet ultimately triumphant story of childhood abuse and survival.
They are five kids with five different fathers and an alcoholic mother who leaves them to fend for themselves for weeks at a time. Yet through it all, they have each other. Rosie, the youngest, is fawned over and shielded by her older sister, Regina. Their mother, Cookie, blows in and out of their lives "like a hurricane, blind and uncaring to everything in her path".
But when Regina emancipates herself as a minor and escapes, her siblings are separated. And as Rosie discovers after Cookie kidnaps her from foster care, the one thing worse than being abandoned by her mother is living in Cookie's presence. Beaten physically, abused emotionally, and forced to labor at the farm where Cookie settles in Idaho, Rosie refuses to give in. Like her sister, Regina, Rosie has an unfathomable strength in the face of unimaginable hardship - enough to propel her out of Idaho and out of a nightmare.
Filled with maturity and grace, Rosie's memoir continues the compelling story begun in Etched in Sand - a shocking yet profoundly moving testament to sisterhood and indomitable courage.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A story that reached every emotion i have...

Any additional comments?

I have listened to both sister's books and come away a bit ashamed to consider my own life challenges as quite as difficult as before. The ability to survive not only in tact but to have come as far as these sisters and brother have...and with the willingness to share their story has changed my heart forever and i am blessed to have listened to both books.

Read full review

- Jackie

Book Details

  • Release Date: 18-10-2016
  • Publisher: HarperAudio