Guts 'N Gunships

  • by Mark Garrison
  • Narrated by Eric Martin
  • 8 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In the summer of 1967, Mark Garrison had dropped out of college at Southern Illinois University just before entering his third year. He had run out of money and had to work for a while. These were the days before the lottery and the draft soon came calling. In order to somewhat control his own future, he enlisted in the US Army's helicopter flight school program. Little did he know that this adventure would be the most profound experience of his life.
Garrison flew hundreds of missions for the 119th AHC, stationed in the Central Highlands at Camp Holloway in Pleiku, Vietnam. He was awarded 25 Air Medals, four campaign Bronze Stars, and The Distinguished Flying Cross, among numerous other awards. His narrative takes you through the whole process, from basic training, flight school, flying combat in Vietnam, and his return to the United States. His description includes many incidents in combat flight, including being hit by rocket propelled grenades and being on fire in the air, over hundreds if not thousands of enemy troops. But this is not all. He elaborates on the daily lives, emotions, and nuances of the pilots and what they considered their mission to be.
Guts 'N Gunships is a must listen if you are to have a realistic understanding of what flying helicopters in Vietnam combat was all about.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

From one pilot to another

I am a UH-1H helicopter pilot and I specialise in firefighting. I found this book to be brilliant, a must read, or listen on audio. Well done Mark.
Read full review


Excellent listen

A very good listen, well written and excellent narration, learned a lot about the strategy of the U.S. in Vietnam, but most of all about the young men who fought in that war, their tremendous skill and courage and most of all their respect and friendship for each other. Highly recommend this audio book.
Read full review

- Alastair

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-12-2015
  • Publisher: Mark V Garrison