• by William McInnes
  • Narrated by William McInnes
  • 6 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Written and read by best-selling Australian author and much-loved actor William McInnes, this is a story about our love affair with holidays.
It's about going away and staying at home. It's about the relaxing times you had as a kid, escapes you have with your children and the stories you hear from your friends.
It can be about a romantic sunset, the spare seat at breakfast being taken by an attractive stranger, a miraculous airline upgrade - or missing bags, unfortunate rashes and wrong turns that lead to places you definitely did not intend to go.
But most of all it's about being in your backyard in an aboveground pool, floating in circles, staring at the clouds as you go round and round and knowing as you float that life is sweet because you're on holidays.


What the Critics Say

"Skillfully constructed...insightful, understated and very funny. (Sydney Morning Herald on The Laughing Clowns)
"The Making of Modern Australia is a ripper." (The Canberra Times)
"William McInnes compels with the sheer delightfulness of his memoir, and with his fine ability to spin a damn funny yarn." (Sunday Telegraph on A Man's Got To Have a Hobby)
'"Funny and clever." (Daily Telegraph on That'd Be Right)
"A big-hearted novel with character." (Sunday Telegraph on Cricket Kings)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Earnestly moving, nostalgic

Hands down the best performed audio book ive had the pleasure of listening too. William McInnes's homage to the Aussie holiday is laconically funny and evokes images of a more innocent time of country that seemed somehow less self conscious. A fine stage actor in his own right, he delivers his own words in a way that noone else could, evoking different characters and locales one after the other. And, in the end, it's profound and touching but in the most truthful and understated way - perhaps the most beautiful thing of all.
Read full review

- Dane A Lam

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-09-2015
  • Publisher: Hachette Australia