I Wonder as I Wander

  • by Arnold Rampersad, Langston Hughes
  • 16 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In I Wonder as I Wander, Langston Hughes vividly recalls the most dramatic and intimate moments of his life in the turbulent 1930s.
His wanderlust leads him to Cuba, Haiti, Russia, Soviet Central Asia, Japan, Spain (during its Civil War), through dictatorships, wars, revolutions. He meets and brings to life the famous and the humble, from Arthur Koestler to Emma, the Black Mammy of Moscow. It is the continuously amusing, wise revelation of an American writer journeying around the often strange and always exciting world he loves.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Historical wandering

Langston Hughes so clearly paints a picture of the places he travels to and the people he meets. An important documentation of black histories pre WWII
Read full review

- Rudy Lorentz

Definitely worth listening to ....

Langston Hughes lived an eventful life. This part of his life story is as if it more interesting than the first (Big Sea).

I believe I am not hooked 😊
Read full review

- Kat

Book Details

  • Release Date: 26-07-2011
  • Publisher: Random House Audio