John Ringo, King of the Cowboys (Second Edition): His Life and Times from the Hoo Doo War to Tombstone

  • by David Johnson
  • Narrated by Barry Eads
  • 9 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Few names in the lore of Western gunmen are as recognizable. As a young man, Ringo became embroiled in the blood feud turbulence of post-Reconstruction Texas. The Mason County "Hoo Doo" War in Texas began as a war over range rights, but it swiftly deteriorated into blood vengeance and spiraled out of control as the body count rose. In this charnel house, Ringo gained a reputation as a dangerous gunfighter and man killer. The reputation he earned in Texas, further inflated by his willingness to shoot it out with Victorio's raiders during a deadly confrontation in New Mexico, preceded him to Tombstone in territorial Arizona.
Ringo became immersed in the area's partisan politics and factionalized violence. A champion of the largely Democratic ranchers, Ringo would become known as a leader of one of these elements, the Cowboys. He ran at bloody, tragic odds with the Earp brothers and Doc Holliday, finally being part of the posse that hounded these fugitives from Arizona. In the end, Ringo died mysteriously in the Arizona desert - his death welcomed by some, mourned by others, and wrongly claimed by a few.


Audible Editor Reviews

"This is the definitive biography of John Ringo, sans mythology, and malarkey." (Bob Alexander, award-winning author of Old West history)


What the Critics Say

"Historian Dave Johnson sets aside the legends and myths to present here the most complete biography of Ringo to date.'" (Chuck Parsons, author of John B. Armstrong, Texas Ranger and Pioneer Rancher)
"A dogged researcher and rigorous historian, David Johnson sure-handedly brings to light new truths and lays to rest old falsehoods about this misunderstood gunman's life and death."(Scott Zesch, author of The Captured, winner of the TCU Texas Book Award)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 22-09-2015
  • Publisher: University Press Audiobooks