Left of Boom

  • by Douglas Laux, Ralph Pezzullo
  • Narrated by Mike Dawson
  • 8 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The explosive New York Times best seller!
On September 11, 2001, Doug Laux was a freshman in college, on the path to becoming a doctor. But with the fall of the Twin Towers came a turning point in his life. After graduating, he joined the Central Intelligence Agency, determined to get himself to Afghanistan and into the center of the action. Through persistence and hard work, he was fast-tracked to a clandestine operations position overseas. Dropped into a remote region of Afghanistan, he received his baptism by fire.
Frustrated by bureaucratic red tape, a widespread lack of knowledge of the local customs and culture, and an attitude of complacency that hindered his ability to combat the local Taliban, Doug confounded his peers by dressing like a native and mastering the local dialect, making contacts, and building sources within several deadly terrorist networks. His new approach resulted in unprecedented successes, including uncovering the largest IED network in the world, responsible for killing hundreds of US soldiers.
Meanwhile, Doug had to keep up false pretenses with his family, girlfriend, and friends - nobody could know what he did for a living - and deal with the emotional turbulence of constantly living a lie. His double life was building to an explosive resolution, with repercussions that would have far reaching consequences.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Any additional comments?

You miss the majority of what is said through incredibly annoying cuts to classical music due to classification. I could only stick 20 mins of missing entire parts of a story, so much so that anything left in was irrelevant detail. If I could get my money back I would.

Read full review

- Anthony

Left of boom

Very good book, interesting and knowledgeable.

Only problem is the music cut overs. I understand certain information has to be redacted but I feel the music is a bit much.
Read full review

- Scott Fergusson

Book Details

  • Release Date: 28-06-2016
  • Publisher: Douglas Laux, Ralph Pezzullo, Mike Dawson