Magical Journey

  • by Katrina Kenison
  • Narrated by Katrina Kenison
  • 9 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

"No longer indispensable, no longer assured of our old carefully crafted identities, no longer beautiful in the way we were at 20 or 30 or 40, we are hungry and searching nonetheless."
From the author of The Gift of an Ordinary Day, this intimate memoir of loss, self-discovery, and growth will resonate deeply with any woman who has ever mourned the passage of time, questioned her own purpose, or wondered, "Do I have what it takes to create something new in my life?"
With the candor and warmth that have endeared her to readers, Kenison reflects on the inevitable changes wrought by time: the death of a dear friend, children leaving home, recognition of her own physical vulnerability, and surprising shifts in her marriage. She finds solace in the notion that midlife is also a time of unprecedented opportunity for growth as old roles and responsibilities fall away, and unanticipated possibilities appear on the horizon.
More a spiritual journey than a physical one, Kenison's beautifully crafted exploration begins and ends with a home, a life, a marriage. But this metamorphosis proves as demanding as any trek or pilgrimage to distant lands-it will guide and inspire every woman who finds herself asking "What now?"


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

An inspiring journey with the author

This is the sort of book that could only be narrated by the author - it is too personal for anything else. She narrates beautifully. The contents are also beautiful, honest and uplifting. Her story is one that many of us relate to - children leave and along with them goes our sense of purpose and even sense of self. This book goes some way to providing answers, or at least questions, to help each of us start out on the journey to find our new self. Although it’s very American mom in places, i think empty nest and next phases of life are pretty universal.
Read full review

- B McH

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-01-2013
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio