• by Darren Henley
  • Narrated by Marin Alsop
  • 0 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This is a story from the Famous Composers collection.
Following on the success of The Story of Classical Music, Darren Henley and Marin Alsop combine forces again to tell, in more detail, the lives of six key composers: Bach, Vivaldi, Mozart, Beethoven, Dvorak, and Shostakovich. Their colourful lives and their love of music are told against the backdrop of some of their finest works, an ideal combination.


Audible Editor Reviews

Excerpted from the Audie-nominated production Famous Composers, this unique profile - combining narrative, reenactments, and musical selections - provides joyful listening and insight for all ages into the life and work of the great Austrian composer Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Esteemed musicologist Darren Henley, OBE, provides the text, and noted conductor Marin Alsop brings a lively, inviting tone to her narration of this short, sharp portrait of the musical prodigy who grew into the genius composer of The Magic Flute, Don Giovanni, Requiem, and numerous other masterpieces.


What the Critics Say

2005 Audie Award Winner, Original Work
2005 Audie Award Winner, Original Work


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-12-2013
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks