Nancy Wake

  • by Peter FitzSimons
  • Narrated by Stephanie Daniel
  • 11 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In the early 1930s, Nancy Wake was a young woman enjoying a bohemian life in Paris. By the end of the Second World War, she was the Gestapo's most wanted person. As a naive, young journalist, Nancy Wake witnessed a horrific scene of Nazi violence in a Viennese street. From that moment, she declared that she would do everything in her power to rid Europe of the Nazis.
What began as a courier job here and there became a highly successful escape network for Allied soldiers, perfectly camouflaged by Nancy's high-society life in Marseille. Her network was soon so successful – and so notorious – that she was forced to flee France to escape the Gestapo, who had dubbed her 'the white mouse' for her knack of slipping through its traps. But Nancy was a passionate enemy of the Nazis and refused to stay away.
Supplying weapons and training members of a powerful underground fighting force, organising Allied parachute drops, cycling four hundred kilometres across a mountain range to find a new transmitting radio – nothing seemed too difficult in her fight against the Nazis. Peter FitzSimons reveals Nancy Wake's compelling story, a tale of an ordinary woman doing extraordinary things.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

well worth the read

While I myself had never heard of Nancy Wake and only found the book by browsing owing to a few idle few minutes, If you have any interest in the 2nd world war or espionage and courage displayed of real live heros/heroines you will enjoy this book. I can recomend it both as great listening educational and enlightening experience as well as being thought provoking on how her own country ignored her for so long.
Read full review

- Ellen

What a woman! Great life, great book.

Loved it. Knitted a whole baby coat listening to this story of Nancy's amazing war time experiences. Recommend it.
Read full review

- Hellsbelles

Book Details

  • Release Date: 17-06-2010
  • Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd