Please, Mister Postman

  • by Alan Johnson
  • Narrated by Alan Johnson
  • 9 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In July 1969, while the Rolling Stones played a free concert in Hyde Park, Alan Johnson and his young family left West London to start a new life. The Britwell Estate in Slough, apparently notorious among the locals, in fact came as a blessed relief after the tensions of Notting Hill, and the local community welcomed them with open arms.
Alan had become a postman the previous year, and in order to support his growing family took on every bit of overtime he could, often working 12-hour shifts six days a week. It was hard work, but not without its compensations - the crafty fag snatched in a country lane, the farmer’s wife offering a hearty breakfast and even the mysterious lady on Glebe Road who appeared daily, topless, at her window as the postman passed by.…Please, Mister Postman paints a vivid picture of England in the 1970s, where no celebration was complete without a Party Seven of Watney’s Red Barrel, smoking was the norm rather than the exception, and Sunday lunchtime was about beer, bingo, and cribbage. But as Alan’s life appears to be settling down and his career in the Union of Postal Workers begins to take off, his close-knit family is struck once again by tragedy.… Moving, hilarious and unforgettable, Please, Mister Postman is another astonishing book from the award-winning author of This Boy.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Can't wait for the next volume!

Brilliant evocation of the 1970s in the post office and family life on a council estate.

Although Alan Johnson is not a top rate reader of his own moving story he is totally authentic so you warm to him. The story of industrial practices, union politics and the heart breaks of domestic life are wonderful told.

Read full review

- Valerie and James Buckley


Ok read goes on too much about the union looses you a bit but quite Interesting
Read full review

- twinkle

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-10-2014
  • Publisher: Random House Audiobooks