Proud: My Autobiography

  • by Gareth Thomas
  • Narrated by Matthew Gravelle
  • 8 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Gareth Thomas had it all. He was a national hero, a sporting icon. He was a leader of men, captain of Wales and the British Lions. To him, rugby was an expression of cultural identity, a sacred code. It was no mere ball game. It gave him everything, except the freedom to be himself.
This is the story of a man with a secret that was slowly killing him. Something that might devastate not only his own life but the lives of his wife, family, friends and teammates. The only place where he could find any refuge from the pain and guilt of the lie he was living was on the pitch, playing the sport he loved. But all his success didn’t make the strain of hiding who he really was go away. His fear that telling the truth about his sexuality would lose him everything he loved almost sent him over the edge.
The deceit ended when Gareth became the world’s most prominent athlete to come out as a gay man. His gesture has strengthened strangers, and given him a fresh perspective. Gareth’s inspiring and moving story transcends the world of sport to tell a universal truth about feeling like an outsider, and facing up to who you really are.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Remarkably honest

I really enjoyed this book. As a rugby fanatic who has played the game for more than 20 years I'm sorry to say that I would have been one of those lads throwing homophobic comments around the changing room like confetti. I look back now, having listened to this brutally honest account and think to myself how small minded I was. As Gareth says it's about educating people now. Would recommend it as one of the best sporting autobiographies I've read (or heard!)
Read full review

- Steve Richards


A must listen to book not only for those identifying as LGBT or struggling with their identity but for everyone to get a glimpse into the silent struggles so many face. An incredibly honest book.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-10-2014
  • Publisher: Random House Audiobooks