Slide Rule

  • by Nevil Shute
  • Narrated by James Faulkner
  • 9 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Nevil Shute was a power and a pioneer in the world of flying long before he began to write the stories that made him a best-selling novelist. This autobiography charts Shute's path from childhood to his career as a gifted aeronautical engineer, working at the forefront of the technological experimentation of the 1920s and ‘30s. The inspiration for many of the themes and concerns of Shute's novels can be identified in this enjoyable and enlightening memoir.
Nevil Shute Norway (17 January 1899 – 12 January 1960) was a popular British-Australian novelist and a successful aeronautical engineer. He studied at Balliol College, Oxford, and published his first novel, Marazan, in 1926. During the Second World War he joined the Royal Navy Volunteer Reserve where he worked on developing secret weapons, but after the conflict he continued to write and settled in Australia where he lived until his death on 12 January 1960. His most celebrated novels include Pied Piper (1942), No Highway (1948), A Town Like Alice (1950) and On the Beach (1957).


What the Critics Say

"Any book by Nevil Shute is a delight." (Punch)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The engineers engineers

If you have more than a passing interest in engineering and aviation, this is a must.
Excellently written and excellent narrated.
Read full review

- Andy

Fascinating insight...

... Into early years of aircraft development. I was hoping to find out more about the man Nevil Shute Norway and though much of this book is about the business of aircraft manufacture, perhaps I do now know some of the personality of the man that I could not glean from his novels. I was surprised to learn that his dedication to his work as an engineer made his writing a secondary pursuit and that he was at the centre of the aircraft industry during what were arguably its most interesting years.
Read full review

- David

Book Details

  • Release Date: 26-11-2012
  • Publisher: Audible Studios