Take Six Girls: The Lives of the Mitford Sisters

  • by Laura Thompson
  • Narrated by Maggie Mash
  • 15 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

They were known as the Mitford sisters: Nancy, Pamela, Diana, Unity, Jessica and Deborah. Born into country-house privilege in the early years of the 20th century, they became prominent as 'bright young things' in the high society of interwar London.
Then, as the shadows crept over 1930s Europe, the stark - and very public - differences in their outlooks came to symbolize the political polarities of a dangerous decade.


What the Critics Say

"I was enthralled and charmed by this group biography of all six Mitford sisters, which tells the intertwined stories of their stylish scandalous lives." ( The Bookseller)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good, but a little confusing

I wanted to know more about the Mitford sisters, at term I had heard before, but as a Dane I knew next to nothing. I got to know a lot all right, the book did an excellent job.

But it took a little while to get there because the author just picks up and goes assuming that you know a lot of things beforehand - including all the sisters names and the differences between them. I didn't even know that much, so I was thoroughly confused and annoyed in the beginning.

Then I simply skipped the introduction, which is over an hour long, and then, by paying good attention, I was able to figure out who was who and why they were important.

The author keeps jumping back and forth in time and introduces characters, that will appear decades later. But if you're just as green as me, skip the first chapter and hang in there, you'll get the hang of it. And once you get there, it's a really good book.
Read full review

- Mimi Munch-Jensen

This Book Does Add Something New

I have read a lot of books about the Mitfords and a lot of what they each individually wrote, mainly Nancy, whose biographies are really excellent. So I was unsure if this book would add much or anything to my knowledge but it did. It does come at things from a different perspective and explores the mind-set of the family - beyond the six girls too - as well as the facts/dates/events. And there are nuggets of new information that I didn't have before. But anyway it was interesting to get a new 'voice' on a family with whom I have been obsessed for many years.

I was impressed with the research and the comparative notes which the writer included - for example, contradictions in letters from or about different Mitfords. Actually I think the most interesting 'girls' are Pamela and Deborah who seem to be have been the most truthful!

The narrative is fine. I really like the reader's natural voice; but some of the accents and characters she does are a bit annoying - arguably, biographical or factual books don't need that much 'acting' but I did get used to it and in the end I could tell which Mitford she was being, usually. She does men quite well.

I wish Audible would also offer us the excellent Mitford Girls by MS Lovell (a bit frothier than this book but very good) and Letters Between Six Sisters ed C Mosley, both of which I have read and which I would love to have have read to me!
Read full review

- Alison

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-03-2016
  • Publisher: Lamplight Audio