• by Marc J. Seifer
  • Narrated by Simon Prebble
  • 22 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Nikola Tesla (1856-1943), credited as the inspiration for radio, robots, and even radar, has been called the patron saint of modern electricity. Based on original material and previously unavailable documents, this acclaimed book is the definitive biography of the man considered by many to be the founding father of modern electrical technology. Among Tesla's creations were the channeling of alternating current, fluorescent and neon lighting, wireless telegraphy, and the giant turbines that harnessed the power of Niagara Falls.


What the Critics Say

"Seifer's vivid, revelatory, exhaustively researched biography rescues pioneer inventor Nikola Tesla from cult status and restores him to his rightful place as a principal architect of the modern age." ( Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A genius that was surpressed by JP Morgan

Would you consider the audio edition of Wizard to be better than the print version?

Yes, I listen to these books during my drive to and from work, so it's no longer 'dead time' now but key educational time. I actually like driving to and from work now...

What other book might you compare Wizard to, and why?

This stands alone for me....

Which scene did you most enjoy?

The whole book was very enlightening. My background is a s a mechanical engineer so I knew little about the electrical innovators apart from edison etc. How this man has not been credited with more is a mystery....untill you realise that the big money men want to keep the masses surpressed.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

No, I like to listen to the books over weeks.

Read full review

- Skydiver7

Nice to finally know the full story...

of such an inspiring and yet human individual, who's work touches us every single day.
Read full review

- James Kehoe

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-11-2011
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio