• by Ben Law
  • Narrated by Ben Law
  • 4 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Ben Law has lived as a woodsman in Prickly Nut Wood for over 20 years. His authentic, incredible sense of the land and the wildlife, and his respect for age-old traditions and how to sustain them offers a wonderful, inviting insight into the life and character of Prickly Nut Wood. Having travelled to Papua New Guinea and the Amazon, observing age-old techniques for living in, working in and preserving forests and woodland, Ben Law felt compelled to return home and apply his learning to a 400-year-old plot of woodland near where he grew up - Prickly Nut Wood.
This is the story of how he came to know and love his woodland, how he lived off the land, how he coppiced and hedged and created charcoal, how he puddled and built shelter, and finally how he carved out his famous, characterful woodland home that Kevin McCloud has cited as his favourite ever Grand Design. And it’s the story of the wood itself - how it lives and breathes and affects all those who encounter it, and how it’s developed over the 20 incredible years Ben has shared in its lifespan. It’s an incredibly transporting tale that will make you long to hear the dawn chorus, and appreciate the beauty of Britain’s pockets of woodland.


What the Critics Say

"Ben Law is an extraordinary man." (Kevin McCloud)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Might not be what you expect but a great listen

I was expecting a more typical biography with lots of coverage of Ben's early life but this is more of a description of what living in a wood is like and Ben's views on the World in general.

Absolutely fascinating stuff if you have any interest at all in sustainable living and the future of mankind.
Read full review

- Big Ayd

Dull Reading of a Good Book

Considering Ben Law's knowledge and passion for the subject, he reads his book without conviction to the point of boredom. Buy the real book and be inspired.
Read full review

- Col

Book Details

  • Release Date: 28-03-2013
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited