And the Weak Suffer What They Must?

  • by Yanis Varoufakis
  • Narrated by Yanis Varoufakis, Leighton Pugh
  • 10 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In 2008, the universe of Western finance outgrew planet Earth. When Wall Street imploded, a death embrace between insolvent banks and bankrupt states consumed Europe. Half a dozen national economies imploded, and several more came close. But the storm is far from over....
From the aftermath of the Second World War to the present, Varoufakis recounts how the eurozone emerged not as a route to shared prosperity but as a pyramid scheme of debt with countries such as Greece, Ireland, Portugal and Spain at its bottom. Its woeful design ensured that collapse would be inevitable and catastrophic.
But since the hurricane landed, Europe's leaders have chosen a cocktail of more debt and harsh austerity rather than reform, ensuring that the weakest citizens of the weakest nations pay the price for the bankers' mistakes while doing nothing to prevent the next collapse. Instead, the principle of the greatest austerity for those suffering the greatest recessions has led to a resurgence of racist extremism. Once more Europe is a potent threat to global stability.
Drawing on the personal experience of his own negotiations with the eurozone's financiers and offering concrete policies and alternatives, Varoufakis shows how we concocted this mess and how we can get out of it. And the Weak Suffer What They Must? reminds us of our history in order to save European capitalism from itself.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

This book should be read or heard by everyone.

Why it all went wrong and why we the ordinary people of Europe are suffering is brilliantly explained in clear and beautiful prose.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

An eye opening history of the real European Union

Varoufakis' eye opening narrative history of the EU leaves nothing much to recommend the union, only that it must be reformed.
Read full review

- Benno Boyo

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-04-2016
  • Publisher: Random House AudioBooks