The Feynman Lectures on Physics: Volume 1, Quantum Mechanics

  • by Richard P. Feynman
  • Narrated by Richard P. Feynman
  • 5 hrs and 31 mins
  • Lecture

Publisher's Summary

For more than 30 years, Richard P. Feynman's three-volume Lectures on Physics has been known worldwide as the classic resource for students and professionals alike. Ranging from the most basic principles of Newtonian physics through such formidable theories as Einstein's general relativity, superconductivity, and quantum mechanics, Feynman's lectures stand as a monument of clear exposition and deep insight. This timeless audio serves as a comprehensive library of essential physics by a legend in science. Volume 1 makes up a beginning course in Quantum Mechanics and includes chapters on basic physics, quantum behavior, the relationship between the wave and particle viewpoints, probability amplitudes, and spin one and spin one-half particles.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The Unequivocal

If you're serious about quantum mechanics then this is the best place to start. These are a sequence of undergraduate lectures given by Professor Richard Feynman in the early sixties whilst he was at Caltech. It is a no-nonsense introduction and deals with the facts and their derivations. I found myself having to concentrate hard to keep up but the 'pleasure of finding things out' makes it worthwhile. At the end I felt as though I had begun to develop a proper appreciation for the subject. The only possible downside is that you miss out on the quantitative derivations he sometimes makes on the board. Volume III of his lectures in print can alleviate this problem.
Read full review

- Douglas

Loses a lot without Diagrams

I loved the presentation and down to earth style in which the lectures were given. However, without the diagrams which the author can be heard drawing on the blackboard, and which are referred to constantly, a number of the explanations are un-intelligable. A big pity, but I don't regret the purchase in spite of this.
Read full review

- Chris

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-03-2005
  • Publisher: Perseus Books Group