Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke

  • by Anne Blankman
  • Narrated by Heather Wilds
  • 11 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A compelling coming-of-age tale for fans of The Book Thief and Code Name Verity.
The follow-up to Anne Blankman's fantastic Prisoner of Night and Fog is a powerful, fast-paced thriller set in the shadowy and dangerous world of Nazi Germany.
The girl known as Gretchen Whitestone has a secret: She used to be part of Adolf Hitler's inner circle. More than a year ago, she made an enemy of her old family friend and fled Munich to live in Oxford, posing as an ordinary German immigrant.
Her love, Daniel Cohen, is a reporter in town, and Gretchen is content. Then a telegram sends Daniel back to Germany, and her world turns upside down when she learns that Daniel is wanted for murder.
To save him she must return to her homeland and somehow avoid capture and recognition by her former friends, the Nazi elite. And as she and Daniel work to clear his name, they discover a deadly conspiracy stretching from the slums of Berlin to the Reichstag itself. Can they dig up the explosive truth and escape in time - or will Hitler discover them first?

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Disappointing

I picked this as it was billed as of the same vain as Codename Verity (which I had loved) but this failed to deliver. I didn't like the narrators voice and didn't feel any get affection for the characters.
Read full review

- rebecca

Book Details

  • Release Date: 21-04-2015
  • Publisher: Headline Digital